Old Mission
Founded 1804
Capuchin Franciscan
Santa Inés
Solvang, California
Sacred Heart Sisters
Mission Santa Inés

About Catholic Mass

As the heart of the Catholic Church, the Mass conveys the depth of Catholic theology, especially in the Eucharist, which is at its center. Rich in symbolism, the Mass provides a deeply sacred moment for those who participate in it, and even sometimes for those who observe it.

We provide the information below so that those unfamiliar with the Catholic Mass may become more familiar with our celebration customs and format. As you enter the church building, we ask that gentlemen remove their hats and that there is no food, drink or chewing gum.  We also ask that that you respect this time and place of sacred worship.

The complete schedule for Mass and reconciliation or confession is posted in front of the church on a wooden display sign. Mass celebrations range from the traditional to contemporary to Spanish only to bi-lingual to youth/young adult.

See our website home page for Mass schedules.

On Holy Days, mass is celebrated at 8:00 AM and 12:00 PM. The Vigil for Holy Days is at 7:00 PM the day before.

For all Roman Catholic churches, the order of Mass is universal. In each pew, the order of the mass is listed in the book Today's Missal (similar to image on left) and Today's Missal Music. Both are included in one cover. English has a brown cover and Spanish has a black cover. Pew cards similar to the one on the right are in most pews.  These are provided to assist parishioners and visitors during the Mass celebration.

Many parishioners actively serve in the celebration of each mass as lectors, eucharistic ministers, altar servers, ushers, greeters and music ministry.  Other parishoners serve in prayer, faith formation and outreach ministries.  Everyone is welcome and has a home at Old Mission Santa Inés.

A new church year brings many celebrations observed by the English and Hispanic communities in our parish. Beginning with the season of Advent a time of repentance with prayer, fasting, and confession in preparation and celebration of Christ's birth at Christmas and the coming of Christ in our lives through grace and the Sacrament of Holy Communion and to His second coming at the end of time is observed. Each of the four Sundays of Advent are celebrated with the lighting of a candle in the Advent wreath. The Immaculate Conception and Our Lady of Guadalupe, the Patroness of all the American continents, feast days are also observed and celebrated. Advent is culminated with the observance and celebration of Christmas Eve and Christmas Day Masses.

The Lenten season is the forty days of fasting, prayer, and penitence before Easter. It begins on Ash Wednesday and concludes at sundown on Holy Thursday. The observance of Lent is followed by the Easter Triduum or the “Great Three Days” - the three-part celebration beginning with the Mass of the Lord’s Supper on Holy Thursday, continuing with the liturgical observance of the Lord’s Passion according to the gospel of John on Good Friday, and concluding with the Easter Vigil on Holy Saturday.  The Hispanic community has a live reenactment of the Passion of Christ on Good Friday. Easter Sunday is the greatest feast and on this Sunday, we celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ. Easter is a day of celebration because it represents the fulfillment of our faith as Christians.

We also celebrate many other feast days during the church year according to the Roman Catholic Liturgical Calendar.