Old Mission
Founded 1804
Capuchin Franciscan
Santa Inés
Solvang, California
Sacred Heart Sisters
Mission Santa Inés


The sacraments celebrated by the Church are signs of grace that make a deeper reality present to us. One reality we encounter through the sacraments is Christ’s presence in the Church community, his Body. This recognition of Christ’s presence in the community should lead to a stronger awareness of being sent on mission to engage in love-inspired action in the world.

Guided by the Holy Spirit, the Church recognizes the existence of Seven Sacraments instituted by the Lord. They are the Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist), the Sacraments of Healing (Penance and the Anointing of the Sick), and the Sacraments at the Service of Communion (Marriage and Holy Orders). Through the Sacraments, God shares his holiness with us so that we, in turn, can make the world holier.                                                                                                              

Learn more about the 7 Sacraments...

Baptism - Incorporated into Christ's body, sent on Christ's mission

Confirmation - Strenghtened by the Spirit, Called to Action

Eucharist or Communion - The grace and presence of the body and blood of Christ.

   The Body of Christ moves forward to receive the Christ who makes us one with

   himself and with one another  

Penance - God's gift of forgiveness, boundless mercy and grace

Anointing of the Sick - Joined to Christ, Witnesses of Hope and Healing

Matrimony or Marriage - United in love, Strengthened for Service

Holy Orders - Ordained to Serve, Gather, Transform and Send

Source:  United States Conference of Catholic Bishops